Setting up File for Metal Case with MeshCam - Job complete! (pictures of Finished Part)

hello all,

i have done some small project using the NOMAD but today i am attempting to do my first real project. i mainly played with the Carbide Create and got some fun things done, but now i am attempting to use the MeshCAM.

Note: I am far from a pro and just a beginner, so i am kinda lost.

Attached is a STL file and PDF of the work i am trying to get done but when i put all the details in MeshCam it is not recognizing the inside depth cut outs.

Can someone help me, i do understand i need to read a little more but as i am learning someone might have a simple solution I am doing wrong or missing.

thanks all

PS: this is my first real post here!!HSG-213.STL (169.3 KB)
HSG-213.pdf (129.2 KB)

This one is tricky. It’s a small part with deep cuts and wants to be machined at least three sides and probably four since drilling the holes on the bottom from the top might be a challenge. Also how big is your stock relative to the part? IE do you need to also mill it out from something and what is your work holding strategy going to be.

But on to your question. When you say inside depth cuts, do you mean carving out the cavity from that side? And what trouble are you having? It isn’t trying to mill them at all? What tool do you intend to use to carve out the cavity?

1 Like

Here’s a picture of what I get when attempting to rough it out with the 1/8" square end mill (#102):

I used these settings:

But for a real job I’d need to do something based on workholding strategy. For example, if using the low profile vise and stock already correctly sized, I could put exclusion regions on the ends where the vise will be.

Also, one thing you might be hitting is that the default depth of cut is about half way through the stock. This is probably on the expectation that you’re going to flip and mill from the other side. I set the max depth to the bottom of the stock.

1 Like