Shapeoko 3 XXL bad limit switch?

Hi everyone,

I am new to the comminuty and to CNC. I am getting started studying the guides and gathering information after a friend of mine purchased a brand new Shapeoko 3 xxl which I am currently hosting in my garage (with some rights to use it at nights).

I am reading a lot of tutorials and guides on the web but there is so much to learn so forgive my ignorance if my question is too simple for a new thread.

We have home switches and the homing cycle seems to work as exepected. however yesterday we were doing some testing simulating a simple rectangular contour cut but without the endmill installed.
After some testing with carbide create and the hello world program with the sharpie, since we have already good knowledge of Fusion 360, we gave it a go at creating gcode with it.

By mistake, we totally misplaced in x-y the zero in and our rectangular cut ended up being out of the work area of the machine. I expected to get some error while loading the gcode in motion or at least that the x axis limit switch prevented the carriage from trying to go beyond the limit spinning the motors and grinding the belt, but this is exactly what happened. Now, isn’t the purpose of the limit switch exactly to prevent this? is there something wrong in the initialization or the homing cycle? Or is it just a user mistake which we are not protected against?

Thank you very much, very excited to get into CNC

2 Likes

Hi Marco,

Welcome to the community and the wonderful world of CNC/Shapeoko !
The behavior you saw, though debatable, is the expected one:

• switches are in fact only used for the homing (initialization) procedure, such that the machine starts from a known mechanical reference. Actually we should call them “homing switches” rather than “limit switches”.