Shapeoko XL Loading Initial Sequence

I am new to CNC and have just finished assembling my XL and going through the instructions for Carbide Motion v4 I opened the log, selected XL and the lines scrolled up the screen but mine were not commands followed by $.

Not sure what is wrong. Anyone experience this?

You’re seeing lots of internal stuff to CM. You haven’t connected to the cutter yet.

What are you trying to do that’s not working?

I am having trouble getting the initial sequence. I have followed the instructions for homing and when I send the config and look at it in the log I don’t get the sequence with the $.

I get the junk I attached. They suggested re-imaging and sent me a file to do that and I did. It said it was successful. They also sent a file to get the config and when I ran that it was no different

That’s not actually looking wrong to me. It’s also doesn’t look like it’s connected. Did you connect to the machine?

Close the log.

Connect to the cutter. Does it home?

The machine was connected. The top line reflecting NONCONNECTED showed up after shutting it down.
The code I got looks nothing like the sample code they sent me.

You’re not telling me what isn’t actually working, you’re digging straight into details that aren’t necessarily the bit you need.

If the machine connects, and you’ve done the “shapeoko settings” part, restart CM, connect to the machine again…when you go to the jog screen, can you move the carriage with the jog buttons?

1 Like

I have not been able to successfully run the Enable Homing in Carbide Motion. When I try to send the configuration I do not get the list of commands with the $ sign. That is what you are calling the Shapeoko settings rtight?

Don’t worry about the settings for a moment, there are other ways to deal with that.

restart CM, connect to the machine…when you go to the jog screen, can you move the carriage with the jog buttons?