Tall Z Projects

I am new to CNC and the Shapeoko forum. I am a bowl turner and often have wooden bowls 8" tall. I am looking to engrave my bowl bottoms with my logo and signature. I asked Shapeoko support about positioning tall projects and they suggested cutting a hole in the spoil board and positioning the bowl under the CNC so 1" is above the spoil board then secure it. My question is has anyone used this method for tall projects and what is their experience and advice? Thank you in advance for your comments.

There is 14" between the crossbars that hold the XXL together. If you build the structure below the spoil board to hold the bowls securely, then I think it would be possible to accomplish. Whatever that structure is would be part of the supporting tabletop that holds the Shapeoko.

1 Like

Depending on the type of bowl you are turning, this may not be an option. If you are turning a segmented bowl you can engrave the bottom segment before you glue up your bowl blank. If you are using a log blank maybe you could cut a slice from the bottom, engrave, glue back, then turn. That would leave a seem and might not be desirable. But might work if it will have a raised base to sit on. Just thoughts. I would hate to go through all the trouble mentioned above unless that was 80% of what I was going to cnc.

Thank you for your comment. I agree that the Shapeoko and the support structure have to be rigid. The bowl would need to be secured to the structure. I have measured my largest bowl and I only need a 5" hole to have the bowl bottom 1" above the spoil board.

Thank you for your comment. I only turn one piece bowls from log blanks and do not want to cut then reassemble them. The bowl bottom engraving would be my initial use of the CNC. I also turn large one piece platters (max 18") but the Z is within the normal Shapeoko height. Once I get the engraving project under control I can foresee expanding my CNC use to other projects.