Threadmilling questions

Hi; I wanted to make a big aluminum plate with threaded holes in it to use with bolts to hold my stock down (the sticky tape works, but I’m not a huge fan of it - it seems so… inexact, and messy). What I have in mind is something kind of close to what @jonniemac posted here.

I have no experience with machining, so I don’t know what I’m doing, and was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction.

From what I understand, the correct procedure is to drill the inner diameter hole first, and then switch to a threadmill and carve out the threads.

1. Is that correct?

2. How much do I need to care about the internal diameter of the hole that I drill first? I found this which describes, for example on M5x0.8 threads, an interior diameter hole of 4.134-4.334mm. Do I actually need to make a 4.125mm hole, or will the threadmill take off the rest of the material if I drill only a 4mm hole? If I have to make a 4.125mm hole, would the correct way to do that be to drill out a 4mm hole with a drill mill and then expand it out with a regular flat mill?

3. I assume with the nomad, I’d need to thread mill from the bottom up (because if I went top to bottom, the hole would fill with chips before I got to the bottom). Or does the helical flute manage to eject the chips out of the hole somehow? If I go from the bottom up, then all the threads will get cut at once if I get a normal threadmill like this. Does the nomad have enough horsepower and stability to cut a whole bunch of threads at once with one of these? Or do I need to get something that will only do one thread at a time, like these? Or maybe one of the ones with 3 pitches of threads? Would I be able to cut the entire depth of the thread in one pass, or would I probably have to do several passes at increasing diameters? (This would be in aluminum).