Tool path not starting at desired start point

Hello, I am very new to this. I have been using vcarve pro to make some basic designs and have had good success with the shapoko cutting out shapes that I have designed in vcarve. However, I have started to attempt text and whenever I send my project to carbide motion and go through all the normal setup as i do with the other projects, for whatever reason the spindle moves -x and -y some amount off of my material, I have tried to edit my point of origin through vcarve and attempted multiple different text and have had no luck. But cutting out a shape is no problem. What am I doing wrong,

Hi @toddnpti81,

Can you post an example VCarve file that’s giving you trouble (.crv file), as well as the associated G-code file you generated and use in Carbide Motion ?

VCarve does not handle text differently from any other shape as far as toolpath reference is concerned. Everything in the project will be referenced off the zero point you setup.
How much is your X and Y off ?

Hi i am trying to upload the files but it says i can’t upload the crv or gcode files. how do you folks normally share those files on here? and it is generally a good -5,-5 inches off everytime, that isn’t exact, but it is fairly close

Please zip the files and then post them.

hobson preview.zip (173.9 KB)

thank you for the tip.

Thanks Todd,

I don’t have access to VCarve right now to check the design file, but I checked the G-code and it has the zero reference in the lower left corner of the stock:

That seems ok to me (this is quite typical) if this was your intention, but maybe you thought you had the zero set at stock center, not lower-left corner, and this is why you think you have about 5 inches of offset ?
(from that preview, the center of the text is roughly 5inches to the right and 3 inches towards the back from the zero point)

2 Likes