Trouble with Z function

Hi everyone,

I’m new in the CNC environnement. I bought a Shapeoko XL recently. Putting it up was a breeze.
The problem is with the Z function. While X &Y travel normally, the Z travels about 1/4" from the top.
I don’t seem to find a way to make it move down. I did not install the limit switches, since I prefer not to
use it, while not necessary.
If you have any idea how to resolve my problem, please don’t hesitate, I will try every proposition.

Do I look like someone in despair?

Thank You,

Jean

Try to tight the z-axis pulley set-screws - work for me…

1 Like

Make sure that you did not over tighten the V-Wheels (using the offset nuts). The plastic wheels can develop a flat spot that will stop the Z axis from traveling.

The set screws are tight, the V-Wheels move smoothley.
My opinion is that it is a command misunderstanding.
Being Zero in informatics, gives me a major challenge.
But I’m open to all suggestions.

Jean

Ok, good feedback. Now (1) when the Z stops 1/4 from the top, what is the Z axis coordinate reading on the left side of Carbide Create? (example: 6mm, etc)? and (2) with the board OFF, can you move the Z-axis past that 1/4? (Meaning is there something mechanical that is stopping it from traveling that last 1/4"?

Hi Richard,

There is a misunderstanding. If the Z position is at the Z+ end,
I am only able to bring it down 1/4". Wich means that the whole travel area for the Z
is 1/4"
I have no obstruction if I bring it down to Z- end manually, with no power on.

Jean

Hi Richard,

AS for the reading in CC, I see 12.000mm if this is what you ask for.

Jean

Ok, got it, but what is the coordinate reading for the Z axis when it stops? If you haven’t set up the limit switches, did the factory set the board up to accept them? Ref GRBL '$22=1" to enable homing? (To view that the settings were accepted, type $$ and the current board settings will be displayed)