What feature do I use to carve this truck out of wood?

I’m trying to carve this truck out of wood. Any suggestions on how I can do this? I want to carve the outline of the truck all the way thru the wood, but I want to leave the features and just carve those into the wood. I’m new at using Carbide Create. I’m sure this is probably fairly simple, but I haven’t used my machine enough yet to get used to it. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

The big thing is if you are actually cutting out, the narrowest portion of the design needs to be 10% greater than the diameter of the tool which you are using.

I’m still fairly new to this, but have done some similar projects.

First question is if you are planning to import that image, or are you going to buy the SVG? If you choose to import, you’ll need to spend a fair amount of time cleaning up the vectors, so it appears correctly and doesn’t include stray remnants, cutoff elements and wacky zigzags where the lines should be straight.

Unless you enjoy that and have the time to do it, you may just want to buy the SVG assuming it’s just a few dollars.

With the SVG file you can ungroup elements, like the outline, so you can create a contour path to cut it out. You may need to copy several intersecting elements, past it off to the side and edit it to remove any interior elements and leave just the outline. Then connect any gaps and join to make a single outline, add tabs and the contour toolpath that cuts to stock bottom. You can then place the new outline you created on top of your original image.

Probably obvious, but for the detail you want, the smaller tool will give you more, but will take longer to cut and depending on your endmill may not have the length of cut you need for your stock. Check the tools you have to make sure they will cut what you want on the size stock you plan to use.