XL X axis extrusion v-wheel "guide" is not as "sharp" as my old, stock SO3 extrusion

First of all, I’m not an engineer so sorry for the non-technical description.

On to the problem. I just upgraded to XL. Prior to the upgrade my machine cut perfectly straight lines in any direction. Now, not so much. Any cuts directly along the x-axis are wavy. I’ve discovered in the forums that this may be caused by mis-adjusted, worn, defective v-wheels. Hmmmmm, a mystery to me why moving to a new extrusion would suddenly cause the wheels to wear out but, okay, C3D has kindly offered to send me some new ones. Great!

Meanwhile, while I wait for the new wheels I’ve swapped a few v-wheels around to no effect, still have the same problem. Today, while continuing to noodle the issue I looked closely at the new x-axis extrusion and noticed the rail the wheels ride on has a much rounder apex then the old one. The two, original y-axis rails also have nice, sharp apex. My question is…Is this significant, possibly the cause of my problem. Any other upgraders out there notice their extrusion having rounded rail guides?

Mine aren’t super sharp. What is important is that the sides of the “V” in the wheel are in consistent contact with the sides of the peak on the rail. The actual point at the top of the rail is pretty irrelevant. Are the wheel eccentrics tight enough so nothing rattles? When running the X rail back and forth by hand, shake it left and right, if there is anything loose, it should be something you can feel.

1 Like

Sounds like you need to tighten your wheels after the upgrade.

1 Like

Thanks Mike. Yep wheels are tight, eccentric nuts adjusted, no looseness or rattles. All appear to be turning consistently, I painted a small white line on each so I could observe them closely. My machine shouldwork fine, that’s why I posted this kinda silly question. Ah well, hopefully the new wheels will let me get back to work.