Carbide create questions

I am new to this, just got my xxl and I am trying my hand at some designs, to this point it seems to me that Carbide Create is lacking refinement for it to grow with me as I become more adept. I don’t want to waste my time learning a program that I am just going to have to change in a couple of months if it can’t grow with me. So I guess I have a couple of questions.

1. Am I correct in my assessment of Create?

2. What software are you using, or recommend? I am sure you will want to know what I plan on doing with my machine. The thing is I don’t really know at this point. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank all!

I have moved on to VCarve Pro after outgrowing CC capabilities, but CC is so easy to learn (a couple of hours/videos and you are all set) and so convenient for quick and simple cuts, that I think you should learn it anyway. It’s the perfect ramp up SW before moving on to a more serious CAD/CAM program like Vcarve and Fusion360.

2 Likes

I had already learned fusion360 by the time I bought my shapeoko, but my advice is pretty much as @Julien said.

I think it’s worth learning carbide create, its simple and the learning curve isn’t too steep.

I highly suggest vectric software, Vcarve Pro is the best value for the shapeoko, I went all out and bought Aspire, which is quite expensive but has more 3d modelling features. I use this and fusion360 for 100% of my shapeoko design and gcode creation and have no need for anything else.

edit- by no means am I bashing carbide create here, it is simple, and it should be. It’s powerful and improving all the time - it just doesn’t suit the my needs or workflow requirements

2 Likes

Carbide Create is a very basic program, but one which can be surprisingly powerful, especially when paired with a full-fledged CAD or vector drawing program (Inkscape is a popular choice).