Newbie just joined

Hi folks, greetings from sunny Singapore.

Just downloaded the carbide create, and I’m very very new to CNC Router.
I managed to open an SVG file and create toolpaths successfully to make my first cuts.
Not so lucky on my second cuts (different objects/toolpaths).
No idea why the Z plunged suddenly at a pocket that’s supposed to stop at bottom of material. It plunged double the depth and into the wasteboard.

Any ideas why this has happened?

Thanks in advance.

Patrick

1 Like

There was a just fixed bug relating to Z-depths — please check which version you have, update if need be, and if you still have the problem, post both the .c2d file and the generated G-Code either here or to support@carbide3d.com

8Grips_5GP.nc (782.5 KB)
Here’s the Gcode.

I won’t be able to spot any errors in the Gcode as I’m not trained or schooled in this area. Hope someone here can enlighten. Thanks b

1 Like

And here’s the Carbide file.
Mox_8Grips_5GP.c2d (657.8 KB)

1 Like

Thanks very much WillAdams, I just posted the files.
Hope you folks here with better experience can help.

By the way, I just downloaded the latest version today.

I just took a look at the gcode you attached and it seems fine - I don’t see any major, odd, plunge moves. Let us know if you still have an issue on the newer version of CM.

1 Like

Thanks Adam. I’ll try it out again.
Hopefully it’s just a glitch.

I have found out the actual cause. All due to my negligence during the designing please when I duplicated vectors. The particular pocket had a duplicate hence the depth when 2x deep.
The error was stopped by a Gcode viewer called jViewer (freeware)! The problematic Gcode was uploaded to jViewer and it shows only partial simulation out toolpaths.
I went back to Inkscape and checked, and yes there were duplicates that shouldn’t be there.
Lesson learnt and thanks to all who looked and helped.

1 Like