References for newbies?

I just ordered a Nomad which I hope to use to make small parts for toys and gadgets, mostly from soft metal like brass and aluminum. I have no experience whatsoever with CNC. I’ve watched the short tutorials here and read “MAKE: Getting Started with CNC”. But I still feel ignorant. Are there any more detailed tutorials / books / videos that you recommend? I know I could go the route of learning through mistakes. But I just got done with that approach for the cheap Chinese laser engraver I recently bought. It works, but it’s no fun. I’d like to go into this new project with more intelligence. Thanks for any advice!

Well, there’s a wiki: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php

My suggestion would be to start with all the official Carbide 3D stuff: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Carbide_3D

and the more helpful pages such as:

A lot of what’s on the wiki isn’t that applicable to the Nomad though I’m afraid.

and then once you’ve gone through that, look through some of the more helpful resources on similar machines, esp.:

http://lcamtuf.coredump.cx/gcnc/ the “Guerrilla guide to CNC machining, mold making, and resin casting”

At that time, you should have enough of a handle on things to be able to effectively search, research, &c… Please don’t hesitate to ask any questions, either here, or at support@carbide3d.com

Also, there’s a standing offer to any Carbide 3D machine owner — if you have trouble with a CAD/CAM project using Carbide 3D software please feel free to send it in to support@carbide3d.com and we’ll do up a custom tutorial addressing your difficulties therein (if possible, but we haven’t failed yet).

Just will add a few things to the reading list Will supplied that helped me: