Shapeoko / SolidWorks?

Anyone using SolidWorks to create Gcode for their Shapeoko? I’m a design engineer and use SW so it seems logical to look at using it for programming as well as I have it free with the design software and then everything would be done in the same environment.

I’ve just spoken to my reseller who’s been kind enough to give me an overview of it but I need a post processor. They can write one for me but a quick Google popped up these guys who have a free one available for download. Anyone used it?

Any general views/experience/pointers would be interesting to hear.

1 Like

Half the time I use SW to design, then import the STEP to Fusion360 and take it from there with CAM.
I know it’s not the best practice, but I’m still learning F360 CAD and I’m so much faster in SW (day job).

I would assume the free one would be suitable. Quick test or two should proof it out.

Using HSMWorks (SW add-on) at work and it’s a pretty solid CAM option. Works pretty comparable to F360 (except no tabs option which I really miss). Same post processor (Carbide/Grbl) available too.

1 Like

I use SW a bit through work too and much prefer the CAD side of it to Fusion360.

I haven’t tried the built in CAM suite in 2018 but you’ve peaked my interest so I will get onto it, I think with the post you could just go with a standard Gcode post and edit it as required, maybe using the Fusion360 Shapeoko/Grbl post as a guide? I’ve not done much with postprocessors in SW.

HSMworks is $2500/year, not sure I can warrant that, but I’ve heard the SW CAM option is decent for 2.5D

Fusion360 and Autodesk HSM/HSMWorks use the same posts.

1 Like

believe you’re on the right track.
if doesn’t work out then F360 is a good fallback.

@mikep yeah I understand that hsmworks and f360 are practically identical, the issue being that hsmworks is a pretty pricey add on. Solidworks includes a CAM option which looks like its worth investigating.
F