Speeds and feeds, GWizard, max feed

I just recently was looking through the forum and noticed some folks are running some really high feeds. I’ve been using GWizard for several months and when I use the ShapeOKO defaults it’s always 100ipm for max feed. After seeing some folks running much higher I did a little searching and found the SO3 default is 5000mm/m, which is roughly 196ipm. So I went out to the shop, opened CC, drew a 6" circle and set the feed at 5000mm/m, fired up the XXL, loaded into CM and let 'er rip! Sure enough it goes in circles at 5000mm/m. So I looked back at GWizard, went to the setup tab, set max feed to 5000mm/m, hit save. Then I pressed the mm or inches button and it defaulted back to 100ipm. Pressed the button back to mm and it set at 2540mm/m. Bug? Anyone else notice this? Am I gonna burn something up going that fast? I know it’s still going to be bit/material dependent, but is this right? I also checked my Grbl settings with $$ on the MDI panel and I’m set at 5000mm/m.

Dan

The thing is, even if one sets the feed rate at 50,000mm/min., it’s something of a moot point since the machine can only accelerate so quickly and move so fast — the thing to really worry about burning up are:

• the brushes in the trim router — don’t run it any faster than you need to
  • the tip of the endmill — if it spins in one place too long / removes too little material (it’s the chips which carry away the heat built up by the friction of cutting) it’ll lose its temper and sharpness

With the hobby CNC routers, usually what is done is we try to make up for lack of spindle torque by spinning the endmill faster for inertia to power through cuts, and reduce depth of cut to reduce the cutting forces and the need for torque and the rigidity which is needed to take advantage of it.

We have an entire page of stuff on this:

https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Materials

and no real consensus — the best technique I believe is to: