Super PID in use by anyone?

Super PID. Anyone using it? Function with Carbide Motion?

I recently added one to my XXL:

Looks to be a great addition, however with Christmas, birthdays, house shopping, various life events, I haven’t had a chance to really use my XXL for the last few weeks since I installed it. I use mine with knob control, so I can’t comment on how well it works with PC control, however it doesn’t look like it’s a big deal to make work, I just preferred the simplicity of the knob. If you have any questions let me know.

Dan

1 Like

Thank you for the info and quick reply. I’m a noob and still in the carbide collection phase, so not doing a lot with mine yet but the SuperPID looked like a good idea. I’m guessing it is a VFD with no enclosure. Anyway it’s good to hear you like yours.

I added a Super PID to my 1st generation Shapeoko 3. I had it connected to the Carbide Motion controller, but I use bCNC and not Carbide Create as my CAM software. Everything was working pretty well, but I kept having USB disconnects. Carbide 3D sent me a newer version of the Carbide Motion controller, and my USB disconnects went away. Unfortunately, I haven’t reconnected the Super PID to the Carbide Motion controller since the upgrade (I built my solution to have some switches so that I could manually control the Super PID or have the controller board control it; I set it to manual when I switched out my board and haven’t switched it back due to laziness).

The way I had mine connected, I was getting automatic start/stop of the spindle, along with automatic RPM setting. This required changes to the grbl code on the controller. If you are OK with starting and stopping the spindle by hand, you can use the existing PWM and Ground outputs from the controller for just automatic RPM setting (no grbl change necessary).

I wrote up my experiences here.

3 Likes