Toroidal spiral dust separator

Can’t afford a dust deputy right now, so I build my own version. A torrid spiral from a 2" dia. plexiglass pipe, cut it into wedges and pvc glued them together with a slight twist off horizontal and whallaw a spiral tube. I used a plastic mixing bowl for the separating chamber with slots in the bottom like a thien and an old plastic pretzel bottle that I’ve been saving for 3 years. The bottle immediatly collapsed under vacuum so I coiled a heavy wire I had hanging arround. It works better than any cyclone separator I’ve built before. It actually separates the sawdust from the plastic chips as the plastic chips hang in the top of the mixing bowl while the sawdust spirals down into the bottle. Long plastic threads tangle up in the bowl and I can open it and pull them out by the handfull, when I shut it off, the plastic falls into the bottle. Very little escapes into the filter bag. I’ll call it 98.7% effective because it is mine. Here’s some pictures for all those who love to see pictures.

It all cost one can of pvc glue. Jude

5 Likes

Very clever Jude, congratulations.

2 Likes

Thanks Pat, why buy when you can build it. All from scrap and leftovers. Probably won’t endure the long run but it will suffice until I can afford a (well afford to build my own dust deputy). I did see that spiral on Ron Walters youtube channel a couple years ago and have saved that tube for one all this time. There is also a bare wire through the spiral for static discharge. On that note, while cutting the pvc I noticed the chips clinging together and magnetizing to my arm and saw that I had not reconnected my frame ground wire. So I reconnected it and the static within the chips dissipated into the frame through the base board and the chips stayed separated and flew every direction, but not very far. Thanks, Jude

1 Like

Thanks Jude, I bought a cheap Chinese knock-off of a Dust Deputy. I think it cost me about $25 AUD at my front door from Banggood.com.