What did you wish you knew about shapeoko 3 before purchasing it? (newbie)

I’m thinking about purchasing shapeoko XXL, but I’m completely new to CNC. It will be more of a hobby, with wood cuts mainly.

What are some gotchas you wish you knew prior to the purchase or after in relation to Shapeoko?

1 Like

Preface…
Let me first say I’m happy with the machine and would not consider getting rid of it because it does work great and is accurate enough for everything I have done so far including Aluminum parts that fin in a car all the way to wood sign making.

However I had only an inkling of what I was about to get into when I purchased it. My only similar experience is 3D Printing which I own and have owned about 2 years prior to purchase of the CNC. Although the machine itself moves according to gcode like a 3D printer, it’s completely different when it comes to producing something. Additive vs Subtraction technologies require a different mindset.

Ok now things to think about…
(Although Carbide create is a fairly easy tool and can do many things, more then likely when it comes to something super advanced you will probably venture off to serious CAD and CAM software there are free options but there are paid versions also may want to consider them and try them before making a decision)

1. You will be using CAD software to draw things.
  2. You will use CAM to define tool paths on the drawing.
  3. Expect the build to put the machine together to be intimidating when you open the box but within about 3 to 5 hours you will probably be done!
  4. Expect DUST everywhere! (Look into a dust enclosure or some dust collection methods right away)
  5. There are other controller software options out there aside from Carbide Motion that have more capabilities. You can still use Carbide Create and export the gcode, then switch to a different machine controller software.