1/16th Downcut Feeds & Speeds?

I bought a spe brand 1/16th downcut off amazon and was curious what you guys would recommend for speeds and feeds? This is my first time using a downcut and from what i understand they can be a little more prone to breaking, especially the smaller bits. I plan on using it to cut some ornaments out of .25 ply. Thanks!

1 Like

CC’S recommendations are on the safe side. A 1/16 bit is short so be careful with depth.

I would start there and bump up the feed on CM slowly listening to it. Many a china bit has broken while testing.

Displayed is for reference. Use the type of material to choose your feed rates and speed. Being a small bit you will have to take into consideration knots you might encounter.

1 Like

I could not find a downcut 1/16" bit in the stock Shapeoko database.

Here is a quick spreadsheet I did with two down cut bits, #251 1/4", Amana 46200-k 1/8" and a #112 1/16" Upcut. So I compared the difference between hardwood and softwood percent of difference between softwood and hardwood and then the difference between the 1/4 the 1/8 and the 1/16" and the bottom is very conservative but a starting point. Likely you could increase to the #112 1/16" Upcut but start slow and build up with test cuts. The IPM and DOC came from the C3D HW and SW tool library.

251 HW DN 251 SW % Change
60 IPM 75 IPM 1.25
0.04 DOC 0.06 DOC 1.5
46200K .125 HW DN 46200 SW % Change
45 IPM 60 IPM 1.33
.03 DOC .045 DOC 1.5
112 HW 1/16 UP 112 SW % Change
35 IPM 45 IPM 1.5
.02 DOC .03 DOC 1.5
1/16 Down
26 IPM 33 IPM 1.33
0.015 0.025