2.2kw spindle+VFD: Can I power VFD via PDU?

Hello,
I’m new to CNC and the forum. The shapeoko 3 XXL is still in the box at home waiting for me to setup when I get back from vacation in a few days, but I’ve been doing a lot of reading and plan to do some upgrades right off the bat. I’ve ordered the beaver HDZ and I’m going to order a 2.2kw water cooled spindle, and I’ll be using Universal G-code Sender.

Shoutout to @Luke for sharing so much valuable information on the forum. I’ve googled a thousand questions and always find myself back at one of your posts for the answers.

Anyway, intro over and now to my question:

I’m located in the USA but I have a 240 volt (max) outlet in my garage with this PDU plugged into it for my computers: [https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0007YG85A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_pnNlCb3NHNBK8] .
Im wondering if I could power the 220 volt VFD for the water cooled spindle by simply using a C19 cord plugged into one of the C19 outlets on my PDU, with the other end of the cord cut off and wired to the VFD. I’ll use a 12 AWG cord. The C19 outlets on my PDU each have their own breakers rated for 12 amps each.
Does anyone see any issue with this setup? I’m kinda just seeking confirmation before I order the 220 volt VFD instead of a 110 volt VFD. I’m reluctant to use a 110 volt VFD because my 110 volt breakers are all rated for only 20 amps.

That’s my question, but any tips regarding the spindle and VFD setup, HDZ, and UGS are welcome.
Also, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions for making the SO3 more rigid. Having trouble finding anything on that subject. I plan to eventually mill some aluminum and maybe even some thin steel if possible.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Heya

Thanks for the order!

I’ve just had a look and whilst I’m in the UK and everything else runs fine 240v. From what I can see it should be fine but 12awg cord might be too thick for a spindle cable.