2D contour and adaptive clearing in fusion 360

Hi, I am newbie both with Shapeoko pro 5 and fusion. I have been able to cut some interesting 3D models in wood already (I am a woodworker). however I am stuck with the following issue: 2D contour does an excellen job at cutting a slot around the silhouette of my piece. Alternatively 3D adaptive clearing is doing an excellent job at shaping the 3D structure (e.g. slanted surfaces, fillet, etc,…) but it also clears the entire stock around my piece. I wish I could use first 2D contour, and then 3D adaptive clearing starting from the silhouette shaped previously by 2D contour, instead of miling the rest of the stock. Anyone?

Dominique, Napa CA

There’s a few ways to do this.

1. Set to machine “from previous operation” in the 3D adaptive
  2. Make a sketch which contains the adaptive area and select that as the bounding box

If that doesn’t make sense, if you export, zip and post your file we can demonstrate.

I have tried #1, For some reason, 3D adaptive clearing ignores the “Rest machining” from previous operation". I will look into #2. As for exporting and posting my Fusion file, I need to figure that out! but thanks.

1 Like

Contour then Adaptive bounded.f3d.zip (103.1 KB)

Here’s a really simple example, with the adaptive clear bounded to the perimeter of the part and ‘tool center on boundary’ selected as the bounding limit.

Fusion_DC.zip (175.8 KB)

Liam, here is my Zip file withe fusion file.

@doomey What do you have selected for your “Machining Boundary”. I’d probably use Silhoette with tool centered on boundary (possibly with an offset) depending on toolpath settings and tool. Keep in mind that adaptive toolpaths are not typically used for finishing.

1 Like

Yep,

As Neil says, what are you trying to do with the adaptive, you’ve not got much stock left and I’d move to a finishing toolpath at this point, assuming you’re machining wood.