A week of firsts

I am brand new to all of this, so literally everything I’ve made so far is a first effort. Made a tool path to surface my SO5 spoil board. Made a tool tray for bits. Dorked around with some image carving after tracing a logo. It was fun.

This, however, is what has maybe excited me the most. It’s a ridiculously simple round box with a tight fitting lid. Nowhere near as advanced as any of the stuff I aspire to, but I think this is pretty cool.

27 Likes

Congrats, looks great. I had my shapeoko for almost a year before making my first small box with a lid that fit properly :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Check out John Clark on youtube.

Here is here on the forum and has some interesting tutorials on box making and a lot of other Shapeoko subjects.

2 Likes

That’s pretty awesome. I love his intro about a slight box fetish. I am crazy for antique wooden boxes.

1 Like

Antiques started somewhere! Get busy! :smiley: +1 on your box. It will be better with better wood, too.

I do love a good box. :slight_smile: Nice work!

1 Like

Wow. Thank you! Your videos are giving me a ton of inspiration. The mechanics of it are fascinating. So many things to learn still.

My brother and I collect custom knives, and one of the reasons I thought it would be cool to have a CNC in the first place was to make custom boxes for folks who spend more money on their knives than I did on an SO5.

1 Like

nice job! try sanding the sides so its a little bit smoother.

Thank you. I intend to do just that when I’m concerned about the fit and finish and not using a crap piece of scrap pine laying around my garage to prove the concept. This one is destined for a shelf somewhere to collect dust and remind me that once upon a time I did something cool when I had no idea what I was doing.

1 Like