Air Brush Recommendations

Until now I have been using brushes and Acrylic paint to color in my vcarving box tops. I went to a artistic turning class at Craft Supply USA in Provo, UT back in May and we used Airbrush for stenciling and coloring in large areas of wood turning projects. I enjoyed the class but they had some expensive units.

I was thinking about buying an airbursh kit from Amazon to try out. They run from $69.00 to $150.00 for compressor and usually multiple air brushes. My thoughts were that the airbrush would spray less paint compared to brushes and I would not have such a problem with the wood soaking up paint and muddying up my detail on the vcarving.

How many of you use airbrush and what airbrush system would you recommend. I am not a pro shop but am building inventory to possibly sell at craft shows or festivals that are local. Even though it is only July I have learned that you must start early for Christmas if you want to give or sell projects. If you wait till Thanksgiving to start projects you will likely not have some finished by Christmas.

Let me know your thoughts about Airbrushing in general and what equipment would you recommend for a hobby level shop.

1 Like

I have 4 airbrushes, one Iwata that’s pretty nice and 3 other no-name generics and an Iwata compressor. Between the two the Iwata is a little nicer, but cost about 4X as much. If you’re just trying to get your feet wet and understand that you may upgrade in the future then the lower end may be better. I’d only suggest getting a compressor rather than doing the CO2 route. Get a moisture trap too.

Dan

2 Likes

I bought this a few tears ago - cheap and cheerful - but works perfectly well

The compressor is quiet and works well - the brush is cheap - but also works well since I have no need to do spectacular airbrush artwork!