Assembled and made my first cut on S5P. Some getting started tips I learned

I just got my Shapeoko 5 Pro. It’s my first CNC machine, so I know NOTHING about them, but I’m a software engineer, hardware engineer, and 3d printer, so it was pretty straight forward. Even so, I got stuck a few times and wanted to share the places I got stuck and some tips to get from delivery to your first cut. In roughly the order you’ll need them:

1. Don’t assemble using the YouTube video. Use the PDF installation instructions. There are steps (including step 1) that aren’t included in the YouTube video. It’s a little misleading because the YouTube video is so good and it LOOKS comprehensive. But it’s not.

2. The rear bars don’t go on the last set of holes. They go in the second to last set.

3. After you finish with a bag and it still has bolts in it, keep it handy: You’ll need those later but the later instructions won’t tell you to go back to the old bag. It makes it sound like the bolts you need are in the related bags, but sometimes you need to get them from an old bag.

4. If you’re installing the VFD, on the step where you install the cables in the cable drags, you need to keep in mind the spindle is the empty plug. It’s not the big box.

5. There’s a bag in there called “Extra Hardware” in case you’re missing a bolt or two.

6. The cable drag attachment on the gantry uses different bolts than the others. Those are found in the “base assembly” bag.

That’s it for assembly. Pretty easy. Now, on to the software.

1. You’ll need to install a bit before you fire up Carbide Motion. On the VFD, you need to remove the collet nut. Then push the “mushroom end” of the collet into the collet nut. It needs to “click” into the collet nut. THEN you install the bit into the collet so the tail end is close to the top end of the collet, but not quite there. Then you install the collet nut onto the spindle.