AutoCAD DXF file import - wrong scale

Hello,

This is my first time using Carbide Create (Build 648, Trial)

I created a simple square (1x1 MM) on Autocad, exported as DXF.
I use MM as units on Carbide Create.
The square gets imported but it’s 25.4mm x 25.4mm, not 1mm x 1mm.

I tried again with AutoCAD, simple square (1x1 unitless), exported as DXF.
MM units on Carbide Create.
Same problem, the square dimensions are 25.4mm x 25.4mm.

Manual scaling by a non-integer factor of 0.039370… can’t preserve the accuracy.
Is it due to CC can’t import metric DXF or I am missing something?

I tried this using Inkscape’s DXF export (I don’t have autocad) with mm as the file scaling and imported it into CC v645. It was loaded as 1mm square even if the stock was set to use inches.

Can you upload the file? (actually, this might not be possible given it’s your first post - welcome btw :slight_smile: )

Note that if you change the dimensions of the square or object in CC from 25.4 to 1, it’s going to set it to 1mm. Scaling errors should not be an issue here - I don’t think it will end up being 0.999999982 wide for example (ie: use target size and don’t type in the scale factor manually).

1 Like

Please send the files in question in to support@carbide3d.com and we will look into this.

My understanding is that DXF doesn’t really have a concept of units:

The usual work-around is to put a box of known dimension around everything before exporting and then resize the box and all its contents.

Another option is to import into LibreCAD and export as MakerCAM SVG.

1 Like

I think the $MEASUREMENT dxf header specifies imperial (0) or metric (1).

Certainly the Inkscape exporter offers it as a setting.

SVGs don’t have a standard unit specifier for what I remember.