Avoiding Plagiarism

Hello everybody, newbie here,

What are some copyright/trademark laws that I would need to worry about when making signs for sale? I would assume that selling a logo would be illegal, but what are the specifics we need to worry about?

Thanks in advance!

The legal considerations are:

• fair use
  • copyright
  • trademark

To some degree, a fan may create imagery to demonstrate their affiliation — fair use

The person who creates a sufficiently original image has copyright of it and may control its use

A person or entity who is involved in trade may exert control over their trade dress and a distinctive mark which they register so that others may not use that same appearance and lay claim to those designs in trade.

Anything which you draw up yourself, which isn’t intentionally copies from someone else should be fine. If you copy an image or logo, but use it in a way which isn’t overly commercial it may fall under fair use.

The safest course is to stick to one’s own original designs, and to use public domain or creative commons images.

2 Likes

First, I’m not a lawyer. Second, there is a difference between plagiarism and copyright infringement. I’m not going there.

Logos: selling them isn’t illegal in the right context (a custom Ford sign for a Ford dealer/licensee for example is totally fine). This is generally a trademark issue. It’s actually a little unclear if you make a sign with a logo on it for an unlicensed customer if that’s your problem or not - you’re not selling the logo, you’re selling the service of making the sign -in that case-. This is different than somebody picking your sign off a shelf because it has a Ford logo on it (which would be illegal - you’re trading on their trademark) . There was a huge Kinko’s lawsuit in the 90’s about this and their liability because they supplied the copiers.

The whole topic is mired in exceptions and nuances (ie. “Fair Use” is a simple concept, but complicated in practice)