Best bit for 1” stock

Hello,

I have a 15” x 15” x 1” piece of Aspen that I want to carve on, which isn’t a problem. But I need to cut a circle all the way through it and none of my bits are long enough.

Any suggestions on which bit can cut through 1” or thicker stock?

I’d plane it down to 3/4, but my planer isn’t big enough nor do I really want to use a bit to take that much material off.

Thanks!
Jordan

List of various options at:

https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Endmills#Long_endmills

2 Likes

I bought a Melin bit that has a 1.5 inch capacity. I used it to cut through 1.5 inch treated pine on some outdoor chairs. Worked great. Will post model later when I get off phone and on pc.

Melin AMG-808-E .250 Flat Cutter 1.5” Cut Length 4” OAL 1/4” Shank

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion! I’m having trouble locating this particular bit online. Do you have a link by any chance?

Nevermind on the link! I found the bit and ordered it through Zoro.com

I am still fairly new to this entire thing. Do you have any suggestions for feeds and speeds for a bit like the Melin AMG-808-E?

I greatly appreciate your help! I do wish Carbide would sell some longer bits but I understand there is probably a reason for it.

It’s a 2-flute 1/4" square endmill, so you could just pick the feeds and speeds recommended for the #201, and lower the feedrate by 1/3rd (since #201 has 3 flutes and this one only has two, that would end up putting the same load on the tool)
Depth per pass could stay the same.

4 Likes

I purchased the Amana 46321 after having my 201 snag in a deep rounded pocket. It has a cutting length of 1 1/4" and is pretty nice. Other than that, I find that it behaves basically like the 201.

3 Likes

Thank you so much everyone!! This forum ads so much more value to my shapeoko than I could’ve ever imagined. I appreciate the help so much!

2 Likes