Best Option for a Total Beginner?

I am looking to get my first CNC Machine. My goal is to document the journey of novice to proficient on Youtube and other social media platforms to encourage others going through a big life change to pick up a creative hobby. I am a 33 year old former nurse that is very tech savy, but have limited woodworking experience and absolutely no CAD/CNC experience. I had a stroke earlier this year that took me away from bedside nursing so I’m looking for something to do with my (too much) free time. As a hobby initially, but I wouldn’t mind earning a small income from it in the future if I were able to successfully learn how to make money off of my projects.

I don’t want to start too small and regret not buying a bigger model, nor do I want to overspend and bite off more than I can chew. What’s a good place to start with Shapeoko? Is there a learning curve with bigger machines vs smaller? Besides project sizes, is there any advantages to the larger models that I may be overlooking?

Thank you for any feedback provided!

2 Likes

So first things first. Decide what you want to produce. There are many ideas on youtube about making money woodworking. Yes CNC work is woodworking. After you get an idea of what you want to make then start looking at options to fulfill that. If you have the room the bigger the better. I will not lie and will tell you there is a steep learning curve. It is not impossible to overcome but will take a good deal of time to become proficient enough to make things that people want to buy.