Bit broken mid project. Are my speeds and feeds wrong?

I’m fairly new to the CNC world. I have successfully cut about 5 different projects but today my 1/8 spectra compression bit broke mid project. I’ve done so much research on speeds and feeds however i’m still confused on how to know exactly what they should be. Here’s the info on what material i was using and what speeds and feeds I was using. Any feedback would be wonderful as well as how i should go about accurately setting speeds and feeds.

1/4" mdf
1/8" amana spectra compression bit
depth per pass 0.045
stepover 0.056
feedrate 60
plungerate 11.75
RPM 18000

Hi @heavenlyhaven,

First, and assuming your Amana endmill has 2 flutes, it seems to me like your feeds and speeds were about right, 60ipm for a 2 flute endmill at 18000RPM gives a chipload of 0.0017", which sounds typical especially in MDF.

Note that compression endmills are normally used to cut throughout the material in one pass, such that the upcut section at the tip of the endmill cuts the bottom surface of the stock, while the downcut section cuts the top surface. In your case, you were using it like a regular upcut endmill (0.045 DOC), it’s strange that the endmill would have suffered from such a shallow cut.

What was the stickout length ? Do you have any more details about when the bit broke ? was it at a specific place/depth in the job ?

Another possible culprit is tool runout, but it would need to be pretty severe to break a tool cutting MDF at 0.045, I doubt this is it.

Side note: if you are interested in taking a deep dive in the feeds and speeds topic, I have written a section about this that may be of interest to you.