Bit for Keyholes in back of Wall Hanging

What bit would you recommend for creating keyholes in the back of a wall hanging?

I have been using these for a couple of years and love them. Other than waiting a month of Sundays for them to arrive, I have no complaints.

I see that they are now a whopping $8 eBay and $9 Amazon (Prime).

4 Likes

Thanks Rich! Something like:
https://www.amazon.com/Yakamoz-T-Slot-Cutter-Woodworking-Cutters/dp/B075D8KVWR

NOT the blue one…the blue one don’t hold…I"m KIDDING…Yes, just like that… PS I use the 1/2" one 90% so measure your screws…and you might just need one size…but on the other hand…remember the rule… (most tools win).

3 Likes

LOL! Thanks Rich! I’m still working on the most tools things… seems like a never ending quest.

It seems that way because it is! More projects = more tools.

1 Like

I have used this:

https://www.leevalley.com/en-ca/shop/tools/power-tool-accessories/router-bits/30113-keyhole-router-bits

1 Like

Just be careful to pick a bit that has the large cutter but also has the small diameter with a cutter. I have a t track cutter that is only the large cutter and no small diameter cutter so you have to cut in two operations and for a hanger hole that wont work. You have to Plunge then move forward to cut smaller diameter then reverse out.

2 Likes

Good point!

I remember having difficulty creating that toolpath in carbide create. I ended up manually editing the gcode.

One other problem i had was with the plunge. I really had to go in slow or my Z skipped (this was before i got an HDZ)

1 Like

Thanks guys! I wasn’t even thinking about that. I see the bits that I’m looking at have that smaller cutter.

This may be useful.

1 Like

To enhance to what others have contributed. I strongly suggest creating yourself a jig to achieve consistency if you need to create multiple keyhole cuts for production .

Also great if you need to make two keyhole cuts on one piece.