Bit zero completes probe n then stops

Bit zero completes probe but fails to return to to setter
I don’t get any errors. Worked last time used.

Can you explain in more detail?

The Bit Zero should check your X,Y,Z or Just your Z.
Once it cycles through it should then hover just above the bit Zero and stay there.

If should only go to the Bit Setter upon a tool change and for initialization.

1 Like

Thanks. Yes it hovers there. I might be forgetting next step. I thought after it probes it moves. I’m still learning and it has been several weeks since I was using it. It’s the the 4xxl

I have the S3Xl.
But I think that’s normal.

After you set your zero you can run the file.

1 Like

To be clear here is how a Shapeoko works.

1. Power on and connect and initialize. The first thing that happens is the Z goes up and finds the homing switch. Then the router moves toward the right rear and homes X and Y axis. The X or Y home in the order in which they get to the right rear and that is dependent on where they were when starting initialization.
  2. The machine moves to back right corner and homes. Each axis hits the mechanical/proximity switch and then moved a few MM off that position. The point where the switch is triggered is set as the Zero position for that axis. This is refereed to as pull off.
    a. With BitSetter installed and checked in config the router moves forward and prompts for a bit. Then the bit is moved over to the BitSetter and moves down until the BitSetter is triggered, the bit rises and goes back down slowly for a second time slowly until triggered. Then the router returns to the front center and waits.
    b. If No BitSetter installed or BitSetter is unchecked in config after homing the router sits in the back right corner.
  3. After initialization is complete you can jog and set X Y and Z zero with BitZero in different combinations. When BitZero is done with probing the bit rises slightly and stops and waits.