Bitsetter - Uninstall Fail

Hi,

New to Shapeoko and just recently received and assembled a Shapeoko 3 XXL. Started using it without the Bitsetter or the Probe and results were working ok. Installed the probe and bitsetter then immediately had problems with inaccurate z-height (cutting higher than intended) as well as a confusing work flow. Couldn’t find appropriate information on the documents about how to actually work with the bitsetter (or probe). So, I decided to just disconnect both the probe and bitsetter for now and go back to basics. However, the bitsetter configuration will not die even after the hardware is physically disconnected. I’ve uninstalled Carbide Motion 4 twice and removed the Carbide drivers. Yet when it’s a fresh install, the machine initialization and homing still goes back to the bitsetter location and wants to run the process. This results in the z-axis stalling at the bottom of the bitsetter probe (!?) and I have to manually abort.

I am new to this whole process and would really like an appropriate outline/tutorial for full workflow with the bitsetter. As for now though, I would appreciate an explanation to completely remove the bitsetter from system information and just get back to the regular homing sequence because as of now, the machine is stuck in this loop. Please advise. Thanks.

I don’t use Motion regularly, but can’t you go through Settings and “Setup Shapeoko” to uncheck the BitSetter?

If you haven’t, please contact us at support@carbide3d.com.

Hi,

I’ve tried again and got it to work. It seems that the settings needed to be updated after machine connection, but before initialization. That seemed to get rid of the bitsetter connection, but still keeps the machine setting as ‘Shapeoko 3’ (if that matters…). Thanks for your quick reply and I hope to learn how to properly clarify the bitsetter workflow soon. Is there any information that you can point to?