Broken bit half way through job

I’m new to carbide Is there anyway to “rewind” to where I think the bit broke and paused at1 hour into a 2.5 hour cut with a 1/32 bit or do I need to start over :weary:

Unfortunately there is no way to back up. The only two options are to start over and cut some air or if you have the gcode edit it to find a rapid movement before the current location and proceed from there. The gcode is just a text file and is editable in Notepad in Windows or a text editor in Mac. The second option is a little harder to do but can be done. Depending on how long the program is just start over and cut some air.

You need to address the reason your bit broke. Are you cutting too aggressively or was it just dumb luck. So by editing your speeds and feeds in the program you can just start over. For the air cutting part you can speed up by 100% until you get close to the point to pick up and reduce speed back to normal.

2 Likes

Tom

With this said you need to check several things.

Bit actual length of cut. Make sure that the depth of you cut is not deeper than the length of cut on the bit. if you cut deeper than the bet is designed for you will break a bit.

1 /32 is a really small bit if you have feed speeds too fast slow the feed speed down.

The actual depth you are cutting with every pass along with the type of material. Make shallow cuts and slow feed speeds in hard material.

Anthony

1 Like

Curious what type of wood are you cutting and what are your feet in speed and tool path.

1/32 is an easy bit to break how long is the cutting length on the bit.

You can use the “SNIP” tool in windows to take a screenshot.

We like pictures show us your project if you like

1 Like