Can plywood be used on projects

Can plywood be used to create signs and any projects and if so what is the best plywood to use. I am still learning about CNC but want to create larger signs out of one piece. I am currently gluing but I would like to try to create on one solid single piece.

1 Like

Plywood can be used but the quality of the plywood is important. Regular plywood has voids under the nice skin. If your cut into the voids it can be quite visible in the finished project. Baltic Birth is not supposed to have voids but you never know until you cut through.

Another consideration of cutting through plywood is the plywood layer depth. I would suggest you try to match the depths of the plys to keep from having carvings that are just on the boundry of two ply layers. Additionally as I said above some plywood inner layers have voids and are not always perfectly flat making the appearance of your carving look different in different places. If you are going to paint the v carving then that would be not as much of a problem.

In general I do not use plywood much because of the reasons above. A lot of things just look better to me if they are carved in solid wood. There is definitely a place for plywood but always do a test run to see if the look will be good when finished. Plus since the top layer is so thin you tend to get a lot of fuzz and splintering on plywood so down cut bits may be best. Up cut bits would exacerbate the splintering.

3 Likes

Frank,
I agree with everything Guy said and will add a few items. I use a fair amount of plywood on my CNC machine, some of the projects are attached.
valentines_hearts_and_easter_bunnies_3313

I like plywood for templates and jigs among other things, structurally, molecularly more stable in dimension than “pure wood.”