Carbide Compact Spindle Support/Repair/Makita similarity

Hi guys, this one isn’t so much a question as some learnings I wanted to share so the next poor guy googling around looking to repair his C3D spindle has an answer.

So the carbide compact spindle/router that came with my Shapeoko 4 was perhaps never as tight at the nose as one would have hoped, and it was like this from new. I always assumed it was a less-than-wonderful bearing, but having owned a handful of cheap routers with a similar problem over the years I figured it’d be fine for a while before I really had to deal with it.

Well a while came (I’m a hobbyist so after a couple years, but not a lot of use) and the chattering when cutting became a real problem.

I reached out to Carbide 3D and spoke to a nice gentleman named Brandon who told me that Carbide 3D offers no support for the Carbide 3D spindles of any type, repair or parts, and that the only pathway was replacement. And because I was outside of the warranty period, I’d have to buy a new spindle myself. Fair enough, they aren’t the most expensive thing in the world, so after a bit of research I ordered a new one.

Now that being said, the one thing I really waffled on was buying another C3D spindle, or a Makita. Reading online, people insist the Makita and C3D are “identical,” and the Makita has parts support. But “identical” and “identical-ish” are two different things when it comes time to swapping parts. I own a number of Makita routers and absolutely love them, so almost went for the Makita, but in the end the idea of having two C3D spindles that I knew were truly identical was just too tempting so I bought another C3D with the intent to repair the first one. On the subject of how "identical they are though, I found the following reddit thread:

https://www.reddit.com/r/hobbycnc/comments/wh7ite/quick_question_about_makita_vs_carbide_router/
Where a user named WillAdams who said he works for C3D wrote the following:
The differences are: