Carbide Create 101

I am brand new to this CNC world - Shapeoko XL - but have a bit of woodworking experience.

I found a toy helicopter pattern for cutting out with a scrollsaw. I thought it would be a challenge (admittedly not a very complex one) to convert the pattern into an SVG file. I won’t go through the steps as they are pretty basic but I found it a helpful exercise. It took a couple tries but didn’t create too much firewood. I have all the pieces cut out and ready for assembly and am pleased how well everything lines up.

Bill

11 Likes

Hi @72begin,

Those cuts look quite clean, which is not always easy to get in plywood, care to share what cutter and settings (and how much manual finishing) you used ?

Also, it looks like you could submit that project to the community challenge #8!

4 Likes

Can you share that project? I think it will be a fun project for my son.

Julien:

Thanks for the comments. I used an 1/8" upcut spiral bit - Freud model # FRE75-100

Settings -
stepover - .063"
depth of cut per pass - .063"
feed rate - 60 ipm
plunge rate - 20 imp

If I am missing something let me know.

Finishing was 100 grit sandpaper and took just a few passes to remove the fuzzies.

The use of Baltic Birch plywood for this project is important. I offer this suggestion from my perspective as a woodworker.

Bill

7 Likes

Thanks for the info.
Adding to @ispot request, if you feel like it this would be a good project to upload on CutRocket, in the “Toys/Game” section.
Else you could just upload the c2d file here

4 Likes

Thanks for the info… cant wait to see it completed

Ahmed:

The helicopter project is uploaded to Cutrocket in the toys section.

I would like to see yours if you make it.

Thanks, Bill

6 Likes

You’re awesome, you made my boy very happy, thank you.

4 Likes

Thanks for posting the design on CutRocket, the timing was ideal for my lad’s birthday (29th!) helicopters is his job.