Carbide Motion as an app on ios/iPad

Hello,
I am new to CNC.
My new Shapeoko 4 XXL is up and running, and now I am working on the full setup around.
I need a sender, a dedicated computer only for that.
I tough, Is CM existing as an app? To use an iPad as a dedicated sender. Apparently not! But is it in the plan?
The iPad(and associated) is little, has a screen, and resist pretty well to the dust.

Thank you for your answer.

.d

Hello KĂĽppers,

I’m not sure about plans for an iPadOS version of Carbide Motion. Current efforts seem to be getting it to work on a Raspberry Pi.

Your current options are a cheap windows tablet (<ÂŁ200), and old laptop (mac or pc), or a raspberry pi. The specs required for CM are quite low, so you might be able to find something suitable for less than the price of an iPad.

I don’t think an iPad will ever work standalone as a g-code sender, as it can’t connect to the serial connection of the machine.

But you could make it work with cncjs running on a cheap Raspberry Pi (setup instructions).

2 Likes

No, there is no version of Carbide Motion (or Create) for the iPad — my understanding is USB host has only recently become an option, and that getting the app approved would require sending in one of each of our machines to Apple for testing purposes.

The alternatives are:

• an inexpensive (or expensive) Windows tablet — the usual suspects are RCA Cambio and Fusion 5 or Surface 3 or Surface Go — for the latter the higher-specced units seem more acceptable to folks
  • running headless w/ a Mac Mini or Intel Compute Stick or similar running Carbide Motion and connecting using VNC or some other control software — this would allow using a phone or tablet for control
  • using a RaspberryPi

https://carbide3d.com/carbidemotion/pi

(note that this also could be set up headless and allow one to use a tablet for control)

I’ve seen this written somewhere else on this forum too.