Carbide T-track and Rockler clamps - INCOMPATIBLE?

I’m a newbie! Here is a photo of the Carbide3D waste board and t-track kit that I bought and installed. Attached is a photo of the two types of Rockler t-track clamps I bought that other Shapeoko users seem to love, but I don’t know how they can use them with the Carbide3D t-tracks. Also attached is a close up of the mechanism that is supposed to slide into the t-track and then use the blue dial to tighten it down. Neither of these accessories clamp the stock from the top so thickness of the stock isn’t an issue.

My suspicion is that 3rd party clamps / hold downs need flush mounted tracks and that’s not how Carbide t-tracks work. Am I missing something? Do I need to surface the waste board down to the tracks? Seems excessive.
IMG_8454 IMG_8453 IMG_8456

The clamps don’t drop in from the top, they go in from the front of the track. You need room between the spoil board and front of the machine to get them in.

2 Likes

Hi Michael. Thanks for the quick response. I tried sliding them in from the end of the track as I did with my stock Carbide hold down clamps, but because the track is not flush with the waste board, the Rockler clamps won’t slide in. It seems like they either need a flush track or a longer mechanism to hold the clamp in to the track. Do you use Rockler clamps on a Carbide t-track? Thanks.

I have t-tracks on other machines. The t-tracks are a standard size.

Is it that the oblong part at the end of the bolt won’t go in the track? I see that the track sits pretty deep. The corner clamp looks like you can unscrew the blue pieces off. those you could use toilet bolts for the tracks. The clamps from the picture don’t look like the piece that goes in the track is long enough from the photos.