CC generating incomplete G-code

I’ve been refining a design file and testing with a spring loaded diamond engraving bit in a new Nomad 3.

It’s been going well until yesterday when the Nomad started engraving out of the usual order.

The file has thirty something text characters drawn in cad. Not a font, just very small geometry.

On the next iteration of the file Nomad skipped the first 4 characters.

On the next after that 9 characters were skipped.
In neither case did it come back and engrave the missing characters.

Just tried again and Nomad jumped ahead to about 8 characters from the opposite end.
I stopped it so don’t know if it would continue to engrave the skipped end.

The G-code files that were successfully engraved had 0ver 9200 lines of code.
Since the trouble started CM says the G-code files are only around 7000 lines.

I’m a beginner so I must be doing something wrong but what?

CC file.

HEB ENGRAVE REVISED.c2d (1.6 MB)

G-Code

HEB ENGRAVE REVISED.nc (97.4 KB)

Last week Will helped me by sending a fixed version of my CC file and I just ran the G-code from Will’s file in the Nomad and it performed properly, so somehow I’m screwing up my file.

I made the modifications in cad and export an .svg, the same way as usual.

In CC I open the .svg and scale and position then choose the tool and set the Toolpath as usual.

The only thing different is that in CC I’ve also been rotating the geometry to the proper orientation because I forgot to do that in cad.

The preview in Carbide Create seems fine:

and the G-Code matches:

How do I trouble shoot the fact that Nomad skips ahead?

Please write in to support@carbide3d.com and we will do our best to assist.

Try changing your step over from .118 to something like .008

I let it run despite the odd order, jumping around from one group of lines of code to another, and it did complete the job.

I’m wondering if the rotations I made in CC had some effect.