Changing computers issue with Carbide Motion

So I’ll start this off by saying that I am very new to the world of CNC, however I’m not at all new to the computer world. I’ve had my new Shapeoko 5 Pro for about 2.5 weeks now, and I decided the laptop I was using is not what I want to use anymore. I brought out a desktop running Windows 11 (Laptop was a 2015 Macbook Pro with a Windows 10 Bootcamp).

So basically the problem I’m having is that when trying to connect with the new desktop, I get a “No configuration found for the attached machine” message when trying to connect.

What happened between the two computers that one can drive it and one can’t? Does it have something to do with being on different versions of Windows? I’ve double checked that my laptop will still connect and it does. I’ve also uninstalled and reinstalled on the desktop multiple times, updated drivers, updated Windows 11…

Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

You need to configure on each computer which you use to control a machine.

When I try to do the “Setup New Machine” steps I get to the connect to machine button, and then I get this pop up message… Not sure what to do from here.

When you plug in USB does it lock the motors? Does it make the windows USB “chime” sound?

1 Like

Yes it locks the motors and my computer does register the USB being plugged in

There is a basic page on troubleshooting connection issues at: Machine operating checklist

Things to check:

• power supply plugged in — it lights up after being plugged in and stays lit with a steady light?
  • power supply connected to machine and switched on — the in-line switch is small and easily missed (try toggling on/off a couple of times) SO4/Pro — machine power switch is switched on and lights up?
  • machine boots up, controller lights up with power, lights flicker on/off, motors lock?