Clamps, Clamps and Clamps!

I have been using Incra Build-It clamps for a few years, but they are really designed for T-slot use, not threaded hole use. I actually threw away the threaded rod and large knurled nut that came with it, and I use socket head cap screws to keep the height as low as possible. I have the Ohio Diesel Parts threaded aluminum bed with 1/4-20 threaded holes at 1.5" hole spacing.

So I have had to get creative when clamping things for engraving where I am engraving right up to the edge of the item (specifically, 4" x4" marble tiles and 12" x 12" granite floor tiles). I had to angle the clamps so that only a corner of the clamp is actually on the part I am clamping, because if I put the entire clamp end on the part, it would protrude too far onto the part and interfere with the engraving or cutting. There is no adjustment like slotted clamps. You have to have a slot somewhere - whether on the clamp or on the machine bed. I had neither with the Incra camps.

I have made jigs for holding the 4" x 4" marble tiles, but the Incra clamps were just too big to use, so I designed and 3D printed some clamps, but they were too flexible. The tiles liked to move ever so slightly when the diamond bit was cutting. Nothing terrible, but just enough to be noticeable.

So, not too long before the Gator Tooth Clamp was announced, I found what I thought was the perfect source for inexpensive (and much smaller) 1/4-20 fastener sized clamps. ThorLabs. ThorLabs has just about everything for optics, optomechanics, lasers, etc. . .

And they have clamps in 1/4-20 and M6-1 sizes. So, I picked up ten each of the CL5A and ten each of the CL3 to see how they fare. They are definitely smaller than the Incra clamps, and they are both slotted, so I now have adjustment in my clamps for the first time! Here’s a pic of the three clamps next to each other.