CNCjs Interface Stops Responding

I’ve been using CNCjs with my Shapeoko for a few months now and I really like the flexibility. Being able to write my own macros for it is a real time saver if I need to indicate a part a specific way that wasn’t set up in Carbide Motion.

That being said, I have had a lot of reliability issues with the interface. So far the actual g-code sender has been pretty stable, but the interface has tons of issues. It will stop updating and become unusable for minutes at a time unless I reload the browser, sometimes when I click buttons nothing happens and I’m not sure if it’s delayed or didn’t get the signal (very dangerous for jogging), and just general weird behavior.

I’m running both the server and browser on an rPi 3B+ since I wanted to have a fanless setup to keep chips/dust out of the “computer”. I can’t seem to find a lot of useful information about this issue online, but it seems like some people have it, others do not. I’ve made sure to provide my pi with a high output power supply to make sure it doesn’t have low power warnings (these made it wrose), but I’m not sure if there’s anything else I can do, or if the pi just isn’t powerful enough for this task (or there’s something else wrong).

Does anyone else have this issue? Is it stupid to assume an rPi can run both the server and browser?

1 Like

I run the CNCjs server on a rPi and use it via a browser on my Chromebook. It works well and I am pleased with it.

However like you, after running a few jobs after each other the web interface becomes unresponsive for no apparent reason. I usually reset the browser and all is well. I cannot tell why this happens but it really is just an annoyance rather than a critical problem for me. I believe my rPi 3b is way more powerful enough for this simple task.

BTW - my rPi is on 24/7 and works flawlessly - I probably have not needed to reboot for 3 or more months.

1 Like