Coming on a journey with me of completely over engineering the sh*t out of a media cabinet

Disclaimer: it’s not a CNC project I just was 3d printing these parts because in this case it was way easier and streamline for me as well a kind of look I wanted to achieve but of course anything could have been cnc`ed.

So let me start… In Germany were havin internet provided over the “cable TV line” and these cables happen to come out in my living room of course because that’s the regular place where your Tv is living at.

Rerouting cables in Germany is not so an easy task because everything is concrete or brick so I had to come up with a solution putting my internet/TV/console/smarthome stuff in a room where we are mostly living in and hide it.

The problem of hiding electronic of any kind ist that this stuff doesn’t like closed spaces and or heat… And of course I’m an Mechatronic engineer and like to over do stuff for the sake of having it done and feeling all warm And fuzzy inside :sweat_smile:. On top of that comes the requests of my wife no visible stuff or open cabinets or diffusing materials like waved rattan or slatted wood what so ever clean and streamline it should be like the rest of our furniture white and oak.

That’s what I’m dealing with as a base line.

I put up this cabinet as an version 1 as we moved in and didn’t took much time designing or building that as well as had several changes within my smart home system. And now I want to upgrade to V2 because the old one is too loud too messy and I got happy and get my hands on a Ps5 and I have the fear it’s going to overheat in there.

How is v1 looking what’s it from. So v1 are method cabinets from Ikea, floating mounted on the wall with 3d printed inserts and 120mm fans to provide a fresh breeze. Everything controlled by a pc fan speed controller and temp sensors for the devices buttond up with an oak counter top as shell.

So now that I wrote a half side in a gallery blog that’s the pics o v1:

7 Likes