Complete newbe basic question

I just started working with the Shapeoko 3 which we have at work but no one has used it for much since we got it. I got a few people to show me the basics.

I made a few minor things including a jig for this project that involves just putting drill hole in the same place. There will be about 20 pieces and each piece has 3 or 5 holes. The hole will be counter sunk for flat head screws. I tried to play with it a bit at work yesterday but it kept wanting to make circles not a plugging drill hole.

Question is how do I have it make the just a drill hole?

Thank you
Kenny

Unfortunately, Grbl doesn’t have direct support for drill operations, nor does Carbide Create.

One can coerce Grbl to do drilling by using a CAM tool which will manually create the peck and drill commands for this — one such free tool for this is MakerCAM: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/MakerCAM#Features

Please note that the endmill you use has to be center-cutting to drill, and that endmills aren’t as good at drilling as real drill bits are, so one must reduce the plunge / feed rate — a bit on that on the wiki:

Any deflection will result in an oval, rather than a circular hole — probably this is why the expectation is that one use a smaller endmill than the desired hole and cut it as a pocket.

Please request drill operations as a feature in Carbide Create — if enough people ask for it, hopefully it’ll get pushed up the priority stack and get implemented sooner. (or maybe not, due to the limitation noted above)

I was afraid of that. most all of the projects I have coming up require small precise screw holes. I will look in to the options you have given. maybe I can figure out a workaround.

Thank you
Kenny

Another option is to manually write the G-code using the drill commands (which aren’t supported by Grbl) and then use a pre-processor to automagically convert them to the step-by-step commands which Grbl understands.