I have a clock that I am carving out of walnut. I have different layers: numbers, stars, stripes, etc…
I set 4 different toolpath groups based on how I wanted to separate out the carve. One of the toolpaths was “Pocket Stripes”. I had the stripes selected. I wanted to tweak this toolpath, but I didn’t want to change the original, so I right clicked and selected the “Duplicate ToolPath”.
First thing I notice is a duplicated toolpath doesn’t stay in the ToolPath Group – t moves it to the last ToolPath Group. No big deal. I see how it works and I can deal with that.
This is the biggy – I clicked on my new ToolPath (“Pocket Stripes 2”) and the Stripes layer was no longer selected – IT CHANGED THE SELECTION to the numbers layer. The only thing I changed was the starting depth.
I can’t duplicate this behavior in my file, which screams “user error”. But it takes some effort to change the selection for the toolpath (it is not like I could have clicked on a single item unknowingly while changing the depth). I am wondering if anyone has seen this behavior?