Creating Molds for Leather (form & frame)

Looking for some guidance with Carbide Create Pro. I am new to the pro version and am trying to think through how to create some 2-part molds for a Leathercraft project. Wet-forming leather is a technique used in Leathercraft to mold projects. Leather is saturated with water and is tightly pressed against an object until it dries, creating a custom-molded pocket, sheath or case.

The above is an example of a two part mold–the form and the frame. The frame should be 2mm wider then the form. And the form should have rounded edges. Since I am new to Pro, I am struggling to think through how to model the form.

Additionally, there are other approaches to wet-forming. For example, when making a bowl, you could use a concave form and a convex frame, needing to allow for 2mm separating between the two parts. How would I go about modeling the concave/convex designs so that they mirror each other and compensate for the required spacing?

Really appreciate all the advice.

3 Likes

It should be pretty straight-forward:

Draw the largest version of the shape:

Easiest way to draw this is to draw the rectangle larger than is needed:

Apply the rounding using Filleting:

Draw in geometry to cut the top off square:

Select both elements and use “Trim Vectors”

and click to remove what is not wanted:

OK

OK

and use “Join Vectors” to close things up:

Yes

Use “Offset Vectors” to inset by 2mm

Apply

Then Job Setup for the 3D modeling:

Be sure to set Model Resolution to “Very High” unless that has performance issues.

It will actually be necessary to re-create the larger geometry from before so as to model the straight edge at the top.

There are two options here, a symmetrical form which is consistent, or a more organic shape — we will do the former, and the other, being simpler may be experimented with as desired.

Inset this shape twice, once by the desired amount of rounding, and again by that same amount with the inset geometry: