Creating Simple Injection Molds

Hello all,

Complete newbie here. I am trying to create a simple aluminum injection mold using my NOMAD 3. All goes well according to plan until I start machining the second half of the mold. The second half ALWAYS seem to be off on the X axis and seems to be always around 0.03 to 0.05 inch off to the right. The Y axis is good from what I can tell.

Needless to say, the hole doesn’t line up and will not produce the kind of results I am expecting.

The 2 halves of aluminum are “identical” in size. They were purchased from a vendor who sells aluminum blanks that are “squared off” for small benchtop injection machines, like mine.

The NOMAD mills right through both sides with ease and does not seem to have any issues at all, so I don’t think anything is slipping, moving, or anything like that. The cavity is only 0.25 inches at the deepest.

On the software side, I am using Carbide 3d MESHCAM license (don’t know if that makes any difference), but I am able to generate the toolpaths and gcode with no problems.

I’m not so sure what I am missing here. The only thing I can think of at this point is that I am messing up with how I zero the machine?

Because of time constraints, I can only mill one of the 2 halves in a day. Then, I mill the second half a day later. So I zero the machine for the first half using BitZero V2, then all goes well, then I turn everything off and mill the second half the next day.

When I mill the second half, I zero the machine again using second half of the stock. Is this the correct way of doing this?

Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.

Hi @RJE121908,

Welcome to the community.
Just checking: there is no 2-sided job involved, you mill each half of the mold separately from two pieces of stock, correct ?