Custom Experimental Apparatus Parts for High Vacuum (Aluminum and Copper)

I’m a student researcher at the University of Arizona and my group recently got a Nomad3 for making up custom experimental apparatus and jigs which I’ve been in charge of. Our experiments take place in vacuum chambers, which requires parts to be made out of aluminum, and some are also in a cryostat (super refrigerator) which requires high thermally conductivity and so those parts have to be made out of copper. I’ve gotten some good use out the machine already and I’m impressed that its able to make parts up to experimental quality.

I thought I’d share some of my projects and how they were done, especially the copper pieces, as I haven’t seen anyone else milling bulk copper. I hope the information is useful.

Example Pieces: Chip Sample Holders
These are “hats” which sit on top of optical posts and provide a platform for safely and reliably loading and positioning experimental samples in and out of vacuum chambers. I designed them to be simply approachable with top down 2D milling; that is, having distinct levels where each successive one may be cut without running into those above. Different layers were ‘sliced’ into .svg files and then imported into Carbide Create which was used to generate tool paths.

Aluminum Room Temperature 4x Sample Holder:

This was milled using a Speed Tiger 1/8" end mill. The Carbide 3D standard #102 1/8" end mills also work just as well. Cut in open air with no cooling. A small spindle fan, as included with the Nomad 3, was used for clearing chips.

Aluminum cutting parameters for a carbide 2-flute end mill:
Feedrate: 20"/min
Plungerate: 5"/min
RPM: 24,000
Depth per pass: 0.008"

Equivalent Chip Load: 0.0004