Cut depth not working properly

Hi there!

I’m new to my Shapeoko CNC as well as all of the carbide software, but I’m navigating it! I created 2 designs that are the same shape on the outside. The first one I cut out with the 201 end mill, and switched to a 60 degree v carve to do words on the front. This worked perfectly, and the depth looked good.

Now the second design I cut out a pocket in the middle. The thickness of the material is .75. I cut the material down to .400 of an inch with the 201 end mill, i verified this with my tape. The depth is right all around. I then added text that starts at .400 and ends at .525 with the 60 degree v bit in the pocket. Now the issue is once I re-zero the v carve bit and it starts to cut, it doesn’t actually cut the surface at all. It sits above the workpiece. I’ve verified my toolpaths and looked at the simulations and the letters show up perfectly. There are just some fine scratches at the bottom of the pocket, but no letters.

So what can I do to problem solve this? Thanks.

How are you doing the tool change?

Do you mean physically removing the bit? I turn off the router and replace the bit then re-zero.

In terms of the path, I upload a separate toolpath (its under the same file in carbide create) but I disable the contour and the pocket and just leave the V-Carve toolpath and create a separate G-Code for it.

Please post a .c2d file, generated G-Code, step-by-step notes on how you are securing your stock and setting zero relative to it, and managing tool changes and a photo showing an attempt at cutting still in place on the machine.

I suspect you’re bottom out on Z-axis travel due to the V endmill being shorter than the #201. Have you tried adding an extra spoilboard?

Physical process:

I have a second piece of .75 MDF on top of the stock wasteboard.
I secure my workpieces using double sided tape.