Cut2D desktop of Vcarve Desktop

Hi,

I’m a CNC beginner (4XL) and I’m looking at Vectric software. What I like to do is make simple front panels for electronics and flight simulators and also some Nameplates for my boat for example. What would you advise me to buy, the Cut2D desktop or the Vcarve desktop?

Have you tried Carbide Create?

In what way did it not work for this sort of thing?

I started out with Vectric Cut2D once I felt I had outgrown the then capabilities of Carbide Create. I would say Cut2D would be a perfectly adequate starting point for your described wants.
However, Carbide Create has developed over the last 18months or so, so take a good look there before deciding you need more than it can offer.

Probably the availability of (beginners) support videos to learn new stuff. A front panel is no problem but that’s very basic and easy, I want to learn how to do name signs for the boat (text popup) that was super easy with Easle for example, even with the automatic tool advice for the second stage of the carving. Easle increased their pricing so that’s out of my list. CC is also good but there is so much more starters information available with Easle or Vectric. Easier to learn I guess…

This simple example, I want to carve out the background, leave the text untouched. When I create the toolpaths it also takes away the letters, things like that while I have created a first toolpath of the text with zero height…

I know the solution is probably very simple but most other programs gives me a much clearer simulation results, it visualizes (3D) exactly what is going to happen so it’s easier for me to learn what I’m doing wrong. CC doesn’t have that, the simulations doesn’t help very much…

1 Like

There are videos at:

https://my.carbide3d.com/gswcc/01/

and folks are able to ask for assistance here or at support@carbide3d.com for custom tutorials.

The design you specify is simply a matter of making the correct selection:

and toolpaths:

Attached.