Cuttiing speeds

Hi all!

I’m new to this world and comunity,

I’ve bought a chinese 4030T and i use it to engrave pet ID tags (with a spring loaded PCD diamond drag engraving tool) and mailbox nametags ( with chinese various bits (vshaped))

The material used to mailbox nametags is GRAVOPLY 2 ( in various colors). When engraving in simple traced thin letters i use the v shaped drill bits with great results.

When engraving thicker letters like the 404 in the picture ( with flat end 3.175mm i never get good results:

any ideas ?!

Best regards!

We have a bit on this at: https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/FAQ#Router_Feeds_and_Speeds

see https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Materials for the balance.

I use a laser to engrave dog tags and other tags but I have a 40w laser engraving machine also besides my Shapeoko so never tried it on the cnc

HI Dennis!

For pet tags i use a spring loaded PCD diamond drag engraving tool image is suited for soft metals glass and stone. It costed me 30.12€ Shipping included from a guy in germany. It’s great and lasts long with spotless results!
My current problem is the gravoply2 … i know it’s some kind of plastic but i cant find sources telling me if it’s abs pvc acrylic … in the oficial site from the material says to use FR 35 And PR35 (really slow) from 18k to 20k RPM.

I tried without sucess ( BUT I dont have rpm control) and in my cnc manual says the max speed of the router is 8000rpm (300W)

Should i have to replace the router to engrave in this conditions ?

1 Like

Hi Luis

(I’m trying to overlook the fact that your member name is a little unsettling…)

While I have not cut gravoply myself, it seems to me that what works for other hard plastics should work, and to me it you are using a 3.175mm endmill, that’s using a 0.002" chipload.
If your router is limited to 8000RPM and you set it at that value, the required feedrate assuming your 3.175mm endmill has two flutes is
FR = 0.002 x 2 x 8000 = 32ipm = 813mm/min